Roka Akor – SF Restaurant Week

I was really looking forward to SF Restaurant Week this year because I had such a good experience last year. There is always a lot of buzz around Roka Akor and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to eat here for a discounted price ($40/person)! We made reservations a couple weeks ago for a Tuesday night at 6pm.

I really love the atmosphere there. It feels pretty pinky up but more business casual so I didn’t really feel that out of place with my button up and jeans 😛 They also have a lounge downstairs if you needed a place to wait for the rest of your party. We got seated despite being 10 minutes early for our reservation.

  

I was coming down with a cold but I couldn’t let that stop me from having a good time!

  

Alright let’s get to the food! Since there were two choices for appetizers and entrees, we decided to get one of each so we can try it all!

Appetizer 1: Sashimi Chef Selection (3 kinds, 2 pieces each)

Hamachi, tuna, and …. something. 😛 I didn’t quite catch what it was but overall the fish was very fresh. I probably could’ve had about 3-4 more of these.

Appetizer 2: Yellowtail sashimi with green chili, shallots, and poached garlic ponzu

Uh .. yum!! It taste better than it looks! I highly recommend trying this one. The yellowtail was on point. Om nom nom.

Entree 1: Yuzu miso marinated black cod wrapped in a Japanese mongolia leaf.

The fish was sweet! I’m all about sweet savory food. My taste buds were dancing after the first bite. The sauce made it even better! The fish was very fatty and I’m glad we shared because I probably wouldn’t have been able to finish that all by myself.

Entree 2: Wagyu sirloin with grilled bone marrow and spicy sweet garlic soy.

Just thinking back on how delicious this was made my mouth water. The suggested way of eating this is putting a little bit of bone marrow on top of the sirloin and eating it together. I absolutely love bone marrow so this was heaven. The sirloin was cooked perfectly and the bone marrow was out of this world! I think Mika said this dish was listed at $38 dollars. SF restaurant week was tottallllyyyy worth.

This is Mika’s “what did I just eat … IT’S DELICIOUS” face after she took her first bite of the sirloin + bone marrow.

To finish it off – Warm valhrona chocolate cake with almond caramel and vanilla ice cream. Caramel filling came oozing out of the cake when we dug in. I’m not normally a fan of sweet things so I skipped out on most of the caramel filling and just ate the cake but the vanilla ice cream was a nice pair.

Mika, on the other hand, loves sweet things .. so she ate it all.

Overall, it was a great dining experience. I am definitely going back next year! I really want to go back for the Omakase ($138) but I don’t think I’m ready to spend that much money on one meal yet.

Leave a comment